More Than Trans

Standard

Since I’ve been horrible about posting regularly I’ve decided to do a special Monday edition of Thursdays With T (read, “I had some extra time to kill today.”) and hope you enjoy cuz I’m not really sure where I’m going with this.

 

I’m proud of my identity. Not the run around with a trans flag as my superhero cape and yell from the rooftops to educate the world about everything LGBTQ+ (and not that there’s anything wrong with that – you do you,) But I’m out for the most part (definitely on social media) and with the right friends on in the right context I’m happy to discuss my identity and I’m proud to think that I’ve help other people understand things that they don’t get about the community.

But that’s not all that I am. And though it may be hard to to believe reading this blog, there are a lot of other subjects that I’m passionate about and enjoy having a conversation about. Or even attempting to educated. I mean I’m studying to be an English/Creative Writing professor after all. Hopefully my future career will be full days of discussing poetry, how to map out writing an essay, and the importance of the oxford comma. True, I also hope to be out about my identity as a professor, but I also don’t want that to dominate my classroom. (Hopefully my future students won’t ever find this blog so they can discover all of my typos and bad grammar and hold it over my head.)

Anyone who knows me in real life also knows I’m obsessed with superheros. Seriously my apartment looks like a 10 year old decorated it because there are superhero posters, comics, and paintings everywhere. Heck, I even have an Iron Man Mr. Potato Head.

superhero-wall-painted-600x399

would totally sleep here (link)

I love Supernatural and if you get me talking about I will not shut up and will probably force you to watch a fan made video or a clip from the actors at a con and generally talk your ear off about how much I love them. I’m also a radio deejay during the school year. And though my co-deejay and I are planning to do a LGBTQ+ themed show this year at least once, generally I don’t talk about that sort of stuff on air. Even back when I considered making my own YouTube channel (don’t lie, we’ve all dreamed about being a famous YouTuber) I wanted to talk about writing and poetry.

I’m sure you can all understand (cis and trans alike) that no one can be summed up in just one aspect of their identity. And it’s the people who let one aspect rule their entire personality that you tend to avoid because they’re either really bored or so obsessed that you need a week break after spending 5 minutes with them.

So yeah, I’m proud of my identity. I’m proud of my sexuality. But I’m also a proud fan of superheros and more. I’m also proud of my writing. And I can talk your ear off about any and all of it. I can talk about how being trans has affected that. And I can talk about how it doesn’t affect it at all.

Leave a comment